Spain emerge Women’s World Cup winners after beating England in final


Spain have emerged winners of the 2023 Women’s World Cup after defeating England in the final on Sunday.

After a 14-minute stoppage time with a lot of tension, Spain held on to protect their one-goal lead.

It was captain Olga Carmona who slotted the winner past goalkeeper Mary Earps in the first half, capitalising after England’s Lucy Bronze lost possession in midfield.

The 1-0 victory was enough to hand Spain their first-ever Women’s World Cup title.

Read Also: Sweden beat hosts Australia to finish third at Women’s World Cup

Englad, the European champions, who lost just their second match in two years under Wiegman, defeated the Super Falcons of Nigeria in the round of 16.

They went on to see off Colombia and hosts Australia in the quarter-finals and semi-final respectively, and reached their first-ever final in the competition.

But it was Spain who sealed the win in the final to clinch the coveted title.

Ripples Nigeria recalls that Spain had gone into the tournament under a cloud of controversy following a dispute between players and the Spanish football federation.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here